Welcome to The Virtual Station Church Pilgrimage.

Since the earliest days of Christianity, there is an ancient Lenten pilgrimage, a walk of faith to many of Rome's greatest churches called the Lenten Station Church Pilgrimage.  This early fourth century Christian practice (which at the time of it's inception, included the Bishop of Rome, his clergy, his choir, and the Christians of Rome) consisted of a program of prayer, biblical readings and celebrating Holy Mass at certain designated Roman churches.

This Roman Christian practice of visiting martyrs tombs, praying and celebrating the Eucharist is the foundation on which this great and sacred pilgrimage arose and continues today. It is a refection on the eternal truth of Christianity.  

Pope Francis has traditionally continued to honor this ancient church tradition during the season of Lent -

The Virtual Station Church Pilgrimage

To take a virtual tour of the Station Churches-

Just click on the respective Basilica each day during Lent to connect with this daily walk of faith to some of Rome's greatest churches and former homes to known saints.

 

Week of Ash Wednesday 2020

February 26, 2020 Ash Wednesday – Santa Sabina MAP

February 27, Thursday – San Giorgio al Velabro MAP

February 28,  Friday – Santi Giovanni e Paolo al Celio MAP

February 29, Saturday – Sant Agostino MAP

First Week of Lent

 

March 1, Sunday – Saint John Lateran  MAP

March 2, Monday – San Pietro in Vincoli  MAP

March 3, Tuesday – Sant Anastasia al Palatino MAP

March 4, Wednesday – Saint Mary Major MAP

March 5, Thursday – San Lorenzo in Panisperna MAP

March 6, Friday – Santi Apostoli  MAP

March 7, Saturday – Saint Peter’s Basilica MAP

Second Week of Lent

 

March 8, Sunday – Santa Maria in Domenica alla Navicella  MAP

March 9, Monday – San Clemente MAP

March 10, Tuesday – Santa Balbina all’Aventino  MAP

March 11, Wednesday – Santa Cecilia in Trastevere MAP

March 12, Thursday – Santa Maria in Trastevere  MAP

March 13, Friday – San Vitale  MAP

March 14, Saturday – Santi Marcellino e Pietro  MAP

Third Week of Lent

 

March 15, Sunday – San Lorenzo fuori le Mura  MAP

March 16, Monday – San Marco al Campidoglio  MAP

March 17, Tuesday – Santa Pudenziana  MAP

March 18, Wednesday – San Sisto  MAP

March 19, Thursday – Santi Cosma e Damiano in Via Sacra MAP

March 20, Friday – San Lorenzo in Lucina  MAP

March 21, Saturday – Santa Susanna MAP

Fourth Week of Lent

 

March 22,  Sunday – Santa Croce in Gerusalemme  MAP

March 23, Monday – Santi Quattro Coronati al Celio MAP

March 24, Tuesday – San Lorenzo in Damaso MAP

March 25, Wednesday – Saint Paul outside the Walls MAP

March 26, Thursday – Santi Silvestro e Martino ai Monti MAP

March 27, Friday – San Eusebio all’Esquilino MAP

March 28, Saturday – San Nicola in Carcere MAP

Fifth Week of Lent

 

March 29, Sunday – Saint Peter’s Basilica  MAP

March 30,  Monday – San Crisogono in Trastevere MAP

March 31, Tuesday – Santa Maria in via Lata MAP

April 1, Wednesday – San Marcello al Corso MAP

April 2, Thursday – San Apollinare MAP

April 3, Friday – San Stefano al Celio MAP

April 4, Saturday – San Giovanni a Porta Latina MAP

Holy Week

 

April 5, Palm Sunday – Saint John Lateran MAP

April 6, Monday – Santa Prassede MAP

April 7, Tuesday – Santa Prisca all’Aventino MAP

April 8, Wednesday – Saint Mary Major  MAP

April 9, Thursday – Saint John Lateran MAP

April 10, Good Friday – Santa Croce in Gerusalemme MAP

April 11, Holy Saturday – Saint John Lateran MAP

April 12, Easter Sunday – Saint Mary Major MAP

 

Station Churches Lenten Pilgrimage research comes largely from The Urban Character of Christian Worship, by Rev. John Baldovin, S.J. For more information please visit

The Pontifical North American College website at http://www.pnac.org/stationchurches/acknowledgments