Since the earliest days of Christianity, there is an ancient Lenten pilgrimage, a walk of faith to many of Rome's greatest churches called the Lenten Station Church Pilgrimage.  This early fourth century Christian practice (which at the time included the Bishop of Rome, his clergy, his choir, and the Christians of Rome) consisted of a program of prayer, biblical readings and celebrating Holy Mass at certain designated Roman churches.

This Roman Christian practice of visiting martyrs tombs, praying and celebrating the Eucharist is the foundation on which this great and sacred pilgrimage arose and continues today.  It is a refection on the eternal truth of Christianity.

The Virtual Station Church Pilgrimage

To take a virtual tour of the Station Churches during Lent,
click on the respective Basilica each day during Lent to connect with this ancient walk of faith..

 

Week of Ash Wednesday 2016

February 10, 2016, Ash Wednesday – Santa Sabina MAP

February 11, Thursday – San Giorgio al Velabro MAP

February 12, Friday – Santi Giovanni e Paolo al Celio MAP

February 13, Saturday – Sant Agostino MAP

First Week of Lent

 

February 14, Sunday – Saint John Lateran  MAP

February 15, Monday – San Pietro in Vincoli  MAP

February 16, Tuesday – Sant Anastasia al Palatino MAP

February 17, Wednesday – Saint Mary Major MAP

February 18, Thursday – San Lorenzo in Panisperna MAP

February 19, Friday – Santi Apostoli  MAP

February 20, Saturday – Saint Peter’s Basilica MAP

Second Week of Lent

 

February 21, Sunday – Santa Maria in Domenica alla Navicella  MAP

February 22, Monday – San Clemente MAP

February 23, Tuesday – Santa Balbina all’Aventino  MAP

February 24, Wednesday – Santa Cecilia in Trastevere MAP

February 25, Thursday – Santa Maria in Trastevere  MAP

February 26, Friday – San Vitale  MAP

February 27, Saturday – Santi Marcellino e Pietro  MAP

Third Week of Lent

 

February 28, Sunday – San Lorenzo fuori le Mura  MAP

February 29, Monday – San Marco al Campidoglio  MAP

March 1, Tuesday – Santa Pudenziana  MAP

March 2, Wednesday – San Sisto  MAP

March 3, Thursday – Santi Cosma e Damiano in Via Sacra MAP

March 4, Friday – San Lorenzo in Lucina  MAP

March 5, Saturday – Santa Susanna MAP

Fourth Week of Lent

 

March 6, Sunday – Santa Croce in Gerusalemme  MAP

March 7, Monday – Santi Quattro Coronati al Celio MAP

March 8, Tuesday – San Lorenzo in Damaso MAP

March 9, Wednesday – Saint Paul outside the Walls MAP

March 10, Thursday – Santi Silvestro e Martino ai Monti MAP

March 11, Friday – San Eusebio all’Esquilino MAP

March 12, Saturday – San Nicola in Carcere MAP

Fifth Week of Lent

 

March 13, Sunday – Saint Peter’s Basilica  MAP

March 14, Monday – San Crisogono in Trastevere MAP

March 15, Tuesday – Santa Maria in via Lata MAP

March 16, Wednesday – San Marcello al Corso MAP

March 17, Thursday – San Apollinare MAP

March 18, Friday – San Stefano al Celio MAP

March 19, Saturday – San Giovanni a Porta Latina MAP

Holy Week

 

March 20, Palm Sunday – Saint John Lateran MAP

March 21, Monday – Santa Prassede MAP

March 22, Tuesday – Santa Prisca all’Aventino MAP

March 23, Wednesday – Saint Mary Major  MAP

March 24, Thursday – Saint John Lateran MAP

March 25, Good Friday – Santa Croce in Gerusalemme MAP

March 26, Holy Saturday – Saint John Lateran MAP

March 27, Easter Sunday – Saint Mary Major MAP

 

Station Churches Lenten Pilgrimage research comes largely from The Urban Character of Christian Worship, by Rev. John Baldovin, S.J. For more information please visit

The Pontifical North American College website at http://www.pnac.org/stationchurches/acknowledgments