Since the earliest days of Christianity, there is an ancient Lenten pilgrimage, a walk of faith to many of Rome's greatest churches called the Lenten Station Church Pilgrimage.  This early fourth century Christian practice (which at the time included the Bishop of Rome, his clergy, his choir, and the Christians of Rome) consisted of a program of prayer, biblical readings and celebrating Holy Mass at certain designated Roman churches.

This Roman Christian practice of visiting martyrs tombs, praying and celebrating the Eucharist is the foundation on which this great and sacred pilgrimage arose and continues today.  It is a refection on the eternal truth of Christianity.

The Virtual Station Church Pilgrimage

To take a virtual tour of the Station Churches during Lent,
click on the respective Basilica each day during Lent to connect with this ancient walk of faith..

 

Week of Ash Wednesday 2019

March 6, 2018, Ash Wednesday – Santa Sabina MAP

March 7, Thursday – San Giorgio al Velabro MAP

March 8, Friday – Santi Giovanni e Paolo al Celio MAP

March 9, Saturday – Sant Agostino MAP

First Week of Lent

 

March 10, Sunday – Saint John Lateran  MAP

March 11, Monday – San Pietro in Vincoli  MAP

March 12, Tuesday – Sant Anastasia al Palatino MAP

March 13, Wednesday – Saint Mary Major MAP

March 14, Thursday – San Lorenzo in Panisperna MAP

March 15, Friday – Santi Apostoli  MAP

March 16, Saturday – Saint Peter’s Basilica MAP

Second Week of Lent

 

March 17, Sunday – Santa Maria in Domenica alla Navicella  MAP

March 18, Monday – San Clemente MAP

March 19, Tuesday – Santa Balbina all’Aventino  MAP

March 20, Wednesday – Santa Cecilia in Trastevere MAP

March 21, Thursday – Santa Maria in Trastevere  MAP

March 22, Friday – San Vitale  MAP

March 23, Saturday – Santi Marcellino e Pietro  MAP

Third Week of Lent

 

March 24, Sunday – San Lorenzo fuori le Mura  MAP

March 25, Monday – San Marco al Campidoglio  MAP

March 26, Tuesday – Santa Pudenziana  MAP

March 27, Wednesday – San Sisto  MAP

March 28, Thursday – Santi Cosma e Damiano in Via Sacra MAP

March 29, Friday – San Lorenzo in Lucina  MAP

March 30, Saturday – Santa Susanna MAP

Fourth Week of Lent

 

March 31, Sunday – Santa Croce in Gerusalemme  MAP

April 1, Monday – Santi Quattro Coronati al Celio MAP

April 2, Tuesday – San Lorenzo in Damaso MAP

April 3, Wednesday – Saint Paul outside the Walls MAP

April 4, Thursday – Santi Silvestro e Martino ai Monti MAP

April 5, Friday – San Eusebio all’Esquilino MAP

April 6, Saturday – San Nicola in Carcere MAP

Fifth Week of Lent

 

March 7, Sunday – Saint Peter’s Basilica  MAP

March 8, Monday – San Crisogono in Trastevere MAP

March 9, Tuesday – Santa Maria in via Lata MAP

March 10, Wednesday – San Marcello al Corso MAP

March 11, Thursday – San Apollinare MAP

March 12, Friday – San Stefano al Celio MAP

March 13, Saturday – San Giovanni a Porta Latina MAP

Holy Week

 

April 14, Palm Sunday – Saint John Lateran MAP

April 15, Monday – Santa Prassede MAP

April 16, Tuesday – Santa Prisca all’Aventino MAP

April 17, Wednesday – Saint Mary Major  MAP

April 18, Thursday – Saint John Lateran MAP

April 19, Good Friday – Santa Croce in Gerusalemme MAP

April 20, Holy Saturday – Saint John Lateran MAP

April 21, Easter Sunday – Saint Mary Major MAP

 

Station Churches Lenten Pilgrimage research comes largely from The Urban Character of Christian Worship, by Rev. John Baldovin, S.J. For more information please visit

The Pontifical North American College website at http://www.pnac.org/stationchurches/acknowledgments